# **DRAFT MINUTES**

# EDUCATION SECTOR ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 20, 2018 10:00 – 4:00 PM RADISSON HOTEL – SASKATOON DA VINCI ROOM

#### \*\*REGISTRATION - 9:30 - 10:00 AM\*\*

- 1. Meeting called to order 10:00 am
- 2. Welcome from Robinson
- 3. Statement of Equality read by Robinson This SGEU event will occur on treaty 6 territory, and in the Homeland of the Metis Nation.
- 4. Appointment of Ombudsmun Debbie Stavely
- 5. Introductions There were 42 delegates in attendance, three staff, three guests
- Stipend set at 6 hours M/S: Zawada-Wiebe/Gerski Carried
- Adoption of Agenda M/S: Pedersen, J./Isted Carried
- Adopt AGM 2017 Minutes M/S: Leaman/Weber Carried
- 9. Greetings from SGEU President Bob Bymoen brought greetings
- 10. Greetings from Labour Relations Officer, Kathy Mahussier
- 11. Solidarity Guests Tina Vuckovic Retail Regulatory, Chris Day Crowns

#### 12. Reports

- 12.1 Chair Robinson provided M/S: Robinson/Zawada-Wiebe Carried
- 12.2 Treasurer Bond provided as well as financial statement M/S: Bond/McLellan Carried

- 12.3 Awards Committee Belhumeur provided M/S: Belhumeur/Stavely, D. Carried
- 12.4 Provincial Council Standing Committees
  - 12.4.1 Women's Committee Turner provided M/S: Turner/Isted Carried
  - 12.4.2 Grievance Gerski provided M/S: Gerski/Chartier Carried
  - 12.4.3 OH & S Langlois provided Langlois sends regrets Read by Robinson M/S: Robinson/Turner Carried
  - 12.4.4 FAIR Yew provided Yew sends her regrets Read by Robinson M/S: Robinson/Chartier Carried
  - 12.4.5 Education and Publicity Bond provided M/S: Bond/Van Goethem Carried
  - 12.4.6 LTD Robinson provided M/S: Robinson/Weber Carried
  - 12.4.7 MC & L Robinson provided M/S: Robinson/Kleiboer Carried
  - 12.4.8 Anti-Privatization Isted provided M/S: Isted/Zawada-Wiebe Carried
- 13. Bylaw Changes None
- 14. Resolutions to Convention
  - 14.1 SGEU Plan Text M/S: Leaman/Groat Carried

#### 15. Elections

- 15.1 Sector Executive
  - 15.1.1 Secretary
    - Robinson is acclaimed
  - 15.1.2 Treasurer Bond is acclaimed

#### 15.2 Provincial Standing Committees representatives and alternates

- 15.2.1 Women's Committee Rep - Turner acclaimed Alt - Chartier acclaimed
- 15.2.2 OH & S Rep - Khalil acclaimed Alt – Stavely, D. acclaimed
- 15.2.3 Grievance (4 year term) Rep - Gerski acclaimed Alt - Conrad acclaimed
- 15.2.4 FAIR Rep - Yew acclaimed Alt - Laliberte acclaimed
- 15.2.5 Education and Publicity Rep - Bond acclaimed Alt - Weber acclaimed
- 15.2.6 MC & L (4 year term) Rep - Robinson acclaimed Alt - Bond acclaimed
- 15.2.7 Anti Privatization Rep - Isted acclaimed Alt - Montieth acclaimed
- 15.2.8 Awards Committee 3 members Reps – Van Goethem Pedersen, J. Stavely, D. – Chair
- 15.3 Convention Delegate Elections15.3.1 SGEU Convention April 25 27, 2019 Saskatoon 10 Delegates

The following people are elected delegates:

- 1. Wanda Weber
- 2. Cathy Van Goethem
- 3. Chris Isted
- 4. Jennifer Sveinbjornson

- 5. Tanya Turner
- 6. Ellen Leaman
- 7. Jon Burke
- 8. Peggy Chartier
- 9. Brigitte Monteith
- 10. Lynette Gerski

### Observers:

- 1. Tracey Conrad
- 2. Angel Laliberte

# Alternates:

- 1. Bob Thompson
- 2. Marylynn Dyck
- 3. Kerri McKay
- 4. Sameer Tailor
- 5. Gerald McLellan

# 15.3.2 SFL Convention – October 23 – 25, 2019 – Regina – 2 Delegates

- 1. Chris Isted
- 2. Sheena Yew

### Alternates:

- 1. Cathy Van Goethem
- 2. Debbie Stavely
- 3. Tracey Conrad

# 15.3.3 NUPGE Conference – June 21 – 23, 2019 – Winnipeg – 1 Delegate

Motion to send an Observer as well M/S: Bond/Turner Carried

- 1. Bonnie Bond delegate
- 2. Tanya Turner observer
- 3. Amro Khalil alternate

Motion to destroy all ballots M/S: Monteith/Isted Carried

Motion to adjourn M/S: Zawada-Wiebe/Isted Carried