Meeting Minutes

Date: October 19, 2015

SGEU Local 1105 Annual General Meeting

Meeting Called to Order: 7:40 p.m.

Roll Call: P. Huyter

Unadopted

Statement of Equality: Maryann Harrison

Ombudsman: Maryann Harrison

Motion to Adopt the Agenda: D. Smith

Seconded: S. Switzer

Motion Carried

Motion to adopt minutes (September 2015): B. McRae

Seconded: L. Napady

Motion Carried

Guests introduced: Bob Bymoen, President and Roseann Strelezki, Secretary-Treasurer.

Bills & Communications: Call out for Convention Delegates must be in by February 1, 2016 to Carol Yuzik.

President's Report: Update plans and events upcoming. Pat Sander resigned as Chair of Local 1105. Thank you to Pat Sander for all of his years of service.

Motion: C. Yuzik to Move report.

Seconded: D. Deck

Motion Carried

Treasurer's Report: B. McRae update and review of financials over the last year. See attached Trial balance.

Motion: B. McRae to Move report.

Seconded: L. Burtney

Motion Carried

Social: Carol Yuzik information for Christmas Party December 13, 2015. This will be held at the Minto Bowl from 10am – 4pm. The email will be sent out soon.

Motion: B. McRae to spend \$10, 000 for Christmas Party. This is for the extended rental of the bowling alley and possibly sleigh rides. As always gifts from Santa and food.

Seconded: Pam Huyter

Motion Carried

Constitution: Pam Huyter report on amendments. All amendments were tabled to the next meeting.

Motion: John Rudd Table for November meeting.

Seconded: Randy Anderson

Motion Carried.

Provincial Council: B. Bymoen

Essential Services – Gov. announced new legislation. The government is trying to have the legislation in place for the fall sitting. Provincial council will discuss next steps.

Privatization – P3s ie. North Battleford hospital will cost more than what is first announced. Tower road will cost each person \$3000 per person. Billions of dollars by the time the road is done.

Harper has committed tax payer's money to P3s.

A lot of PS/GE workers have lost jobs with the Saskatchewan Party government.

Own It! and Next Up presentations were given to Provincial Council.

Grievances are in good shape.

Finances are in good shape as a union.

Bargaining:

Motion: B. McRae moved report.

Seconded: L. Burtney

Motion Carried

Elections:

<u>Chair:</u> Carol Yuzik nominated by B. McRae. Acclaimed (2015-2017)

Vice-Chair: John Rudd nominated by R. Anderson. Acclaimed (2015-2016)

Secretary: Pam Huyter nominated by Kathie Attig. Acclaimed (2015-2017)

Members at Large:

Lindsay Burtney nominated by Kathie Attig Kris Ulrich nominated by Pam Huyter Cara Rusnak nominated by Lynette Napady Tony Smukier nominated by Barry Nowoselsky Darren Smith nominated by John Rudd Roger Dusseault nominated by Bonnie McRae Successful candidates are: Tony Smukier (2015-2017) Darren Smith (2015-2017) Roger Dusseault (2015-2017)

Provincial Council: Bonnie McRae. Acclaimed (2016-2018) Provincial Council Alternate Nominations: John Rudd nominated by Randy Anderson Lyndsay Burtney nominated by Lynette Napady Pam Huyter nominated by Kathie Attig Roger Dusseault nominated by Janice Hendous Lynette Napady nominated by Bonnie McRae

-Elections will be held at the November meeting.

OH&S Committee Chair:

Roger Dusseault nominated by Tony Smukier Lynette Napady nominated by Pam Huyter Successful Candidate is Roger Dusseault (2015-2016) Constitution and Legislation Committee Chair: Lyndsay Burtney nominated by Kathie Attig Pam Huyter nominated by Kathie Attig Successful candidate is Lyndsay Burtney (2015-2016) Recognition and Benefits Committee Chair: Cara Rusnak nominated by Lynette Napady Linda Neilson nominated by John Rudd Successful candidate is Linda Neilson (2015-2016) Membership and Organization Committee Chair: Carol Yuzik nominated by Bonnie McRae. Acclaimed (2015-2016) Education Committee Chair:

Bonnie McRae nominated by Lyndsay Burtney

Kris Ulrich nominated by Lynette Napady Kris Ulrich declined nomination. Will sit on committee. Bonnie McRae Acclaimed (2015-2016) Privatization Committee Chair: Lynette Napady nominated by Bonnie McRae. Acclaimed (2015-2016) District Labor Council Chair: Darren Smith nominated by bonnie McRae. Acclaimed (2015-2016) Finance Committee (4 positions, treasurer and chair automatic): Pam Huyter nominated by Kathie Attig Lynette Napady nominated by Tony Smukier John Rudd nominated by Bonnie McRae Roger Dusseault nominated by Bonnie McRae Darren Smith nominated by Janice Hendous – Declined nomination

Pam Huyter, Lynette Napady, John Rudd, Roger Dusseault – All Acclaimed (2015-2016)

New Business:

Report from Roseann Strelezki – Secretary- Treasurer for SGEU. No mortgage on Regina building. Some money owing that will be paid back within the next 2 yrs. SGEU is looking for property either lease or land for a new Prince Albert location.

Peace Officers Memorial in Ottawa: Lynette Napady gave a report. Great experience and would recommend it to anyone to attend.

Own It! Presentation was given by Maryann Harrison. The presentation highlights the issues of privatization.

Motion to adjourn: D. Smith

Seconded: D. Deck

Motion Carried